Takin’ Care of Business

So here we are.  New year, new address in the swanky digs of the nice part of town.  What does that mean for you, my dear reader?  I don’t know, really.  I do have a few ideas, though.

First, I won’t be doing as much of the personal stuff as I used to do.  That’s not to say I won’t ever, but my levels of navel gazing are lower than ever in an absolute sense and my hiatus from writing cured me of my urge to think of every fucking insight I ever had as being worth a three-page essay.  That’s a good thing.

Second, I’m not going to even attempt to make sure my voice gets heard in whatever the internet’s outrage of the day is.  I’ve never been ahead of the curve enough to do that and then I always end up deciding to write about it three days after, which means everyone moved on two days before the post went up.  So…I’ve decided I don’t care anymore.  If there’s something worth writing about it will be worth writing about two weeks from now, too.  If you want daily internet outrage there are plenty of places you can go.

Third, although I have made a conscious decision not to import my previous blogs it would be foolish of me to avoid acknowledging that I do have eight years of blogging to fall back on and some of what I wrote is actually pretty good.  So from time to time I will run a greatest hits post or something.  That will help me, too, since it will give me content without having to actually work, which will be good for avoiding burnout.  Think of it as a rerun for you and a mental health stretch for me.  There will also probably be a bunch of rerun posts over the next couple months, for reasons that I’ll shortly make clear.  Please bear with me.  I’ll try not to abuse the privilege.

Fourth, I will attempt to actually bring some sort of order and closure to several of my ongoing history series.  The three I’m specifically targeting are the Marxism in the 20th Century (which will be renamed, since the current name sucks) one, Byzantine Logic, Breaking the Master Narrative, and my fun and games at Gavin Menzies’ expense.  I’m going to do them differently this time, though.  I’ll take one topic and keep going with it until the end.  In the past I tried to have four hefty things going concurrently and never finished any of them.  That’s a recipe for never finishing anything, as amply proven by, well, the entire history of this blog.  This isn’t to say that if you don’t want to read Byzantine Logic and I hit that one you might as well not come back for a month.  I do plan on having other stuff interspersed.  For one thing, I kinda like the idea of 1434 Fridays, since picking on Menzies can be a weekly joy.

Fifth, there will be more fiction popping up on the blog.  For one thing, I kinda dropped Distant, Dreadful Star in the middle.  I feel bad about that.  I also have another project that I’m working on.  So I might have a Fiction Monday or Fiction Wednesday thing.

Sixth, I’m going some light guest blogging to start out the year.  I’m doing a series over at Unreasonable Faith.  I’ll link to those posts when they hit.  I’m super excited about that.

Seventh, all of this is overridden by the simple fact that this is my blog.  So I’ll probably cut in from time to time with stuff based on whatever is on my mind.  So you might find posts about music, pictures of my dog, or super random posts about Magic: the Gathering because those things interest me.  Eat it.

Now, then, to the blog business.

WordPress is way more involved than Typepad or Blogger were.  I’m getting the hang of it, but you’ll probably see changes from time to time and I’ll probably break stuff every once in a while.

Also, it looks like the default setting requires me to moderate the first comment made by any user name.  I think I’ll be keeping that setting, since it’s almost inevitable that Dennis Markuze will show up eventually.  So for any of my regulars who start trickling back in and want to say hello but get caught in moderation, bear with me.  I’ll try to approve anyone I recognize as quickly as possible (hi, Firedrake and sbh!).

Again, though, weird stuff will undoubtedly happen from time to time.  Sorry.

EDIT:  And I mentioned having three series I wanted to finish, then listed four.  I’m the anti-Rick Perry!

4 thoughts on “Takin’ Care of Business

  1. Um. Hi. Stopped by Fred’s and saw the link, thought I’d come look. May or may not hang out. But you might want to know that your theme is a bit difficult for people who have to increase text size a lot. Looks like this.

  2. MadGastronomer: Thanks for pointing that out. I just grabbed one of the pre-built themes to see if I could avoid tinkering too much. I will try make sure to keep an eye on that when I make changes.

    Brian M: Hola! It’s good to be back.

    • Yeah, it’s nearly impossible to check for all the possible things that can be wrong with pre-made themes. I put up a new Tumblog last week and had to go through multiple rounds of having people say “Wait, there’s something wrong with this one!” and picking another, and again. Actually, there are still problems and I’m still fiddling with it. That’s why I thought I’d let you know. I know in particular that text size is a huge one; so few theme creators and web designers ever consider it.

Leave a Reply

