Friday Music Time – Covers A Go-Go!

I have several half-formed brain farts but nothing that’s actually ready to go, so let’s do one of those Friday music things.

To start, something truly awesome.

The thing about Scott Lucas and covers is this: he understands that the fundamental awesomeness of a cover comes from taking a song that someone else wrote and making that song unequivocally yours. This is equally true for a great song by Peter freaking Gabriel or a terrible song by someone terrible. Case in point:

I despise Lorde. I mean, I have nothing against Lorde personally that I know of. It’s just that Lorde’s actual music makes me want to drive a railroad spike through my skull. Local H’s cover of “Team,” though, is awesome. It’s just pure awesome.

So the whole AV Club covers series is kinda awesome if you keep following the rabbit hole. For instance, here’s further proof that Reggie Watts is a fucking genius.

Like, this takes my theory about Scott Lucas covers being great because he makes the song his own and makes it look like Scott Lucas just does straight covers. Let’s do another one!

Okay, I guess that’s not technically a cover. It’s a parody. Whatever. The point is that Radiohead sucks but Reggie Watts doing random shit while making fun of Radiohead is awesome. Because life’s weird, amirite?

Speaking of weird, how about Shania Twain covering AC/DC?

So the thing I noticed right off the bat is that, holy shit, that’s terrible. Like, I didn’t know it was possible to listen to a cover of a song I hate and think, “Wow, way to ruin that song!” But it just happened. It. Just. Happened. Like, it’s bad and she PG-ified a song about fuckin’. Just awful.

Let’s move on to something else, quick-like. Maybe Matt Nathanson can save the day.

Ah, that’s better.

And since I had no idea where I was going with this after the Local H, here’s Letters to Cleo covering Cheap Trick.

This, for some reason, reminds me of Chvrches covering The Arctic Monkeys. It’s good.

And that gets us, apparently, to Bastille covering Miley Cyrus.

Full disclosure, I assume this is better than the original. I have managed to make it through my entire life without ever hearing a Miley Cyrus, at least to the best of my knowledge. And there’s a hilarious tag in the middle, so that makes everything better.

And we’re just gonna stop right here, especially because this has not had an effect on YouTube’s insistence that I really want to watch Kacey Musgraves videos. I don’t, YouTube. I really, really don’t.

Leave a Reply

