Big Announcement Time

Today is a big day here in Gedsland. I’m launching a brandy-spankin’ new website. It’s based around Nightwind and the larger universe that Nightwind is intended to start. Go, visit. It’s gonna be yoooge.

This is only announcement number one of the day, though.

The other big one for this site is that I am officially shutting Accidental Historian down. It’s still going to be here, wasting space on the internet, but I’m not even going to pretend I’m updating it anymore. It’s simply not worth my time.

This doesn’t mean that I’m going anywhere. It just means I’m concentrating my efforts on platforms with a better payoff or better focus. There’s a veritable cornucopia of options for your Geds fix starting today.

earthrisesaga.com

writerbrian.com

facebook.com/writergeds

patreon.com/writergeds

@writergeds on Twitter

I also have a Medium page for some reason.

So why all these changes? Way back in the day when I started Accidental Historian as a little blog on Blogspot I thought for sure I’d be discovered as the next big thing any day. That was the sort of thing that happened to bloggers 12 years ago. Now? Not so much.

I recently saw some good advice for writers. It was basically, “When you’re just starting out you have to go where the readers already are.” It’s sad to say, but even after a dozen-ish years of writing on the internet I’m still just starting out. So I need to go where the readers are (hence the Medium page, honestly). I’m moving from writing primarily for myself to writing with an eye towards getting paid. It’s a life-long dream.

Accidental Historian was never going to get me paid. It’s simply a dinosaur from the days when people like me got on the internet and dreamed of that big payday out of nowhere. It was a valuable platform for me for a long time. I learned to write with an audience in mind. I learned to stop writing if that little voice in the back of my head said, “This is really stupid and you shouldn’t do it.”

In the final analysis I didn’t really have the proper mentality to really succeed as a blogger. I never wanted to pick a niche and become the go-to guy for that sort of writing. I never wanted to be the first person to register a response to whatever the internet outrage of the day is. I still don’t know what a lifestyle is or why anyone would blog about one. I was just a hobbyist. And I came to kind of hate the process of trying to force myself to do it.

A few people found my blog and decided to stick around. I cannot thank you enough for your support over the years. I hope you choose to join me as I push forward into my new frontiers.

Leave a Reply

